Colt Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
991 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Everyone's been talking about the rise in prices lately. Colt's ridiculous pricing has much to do with the recent rumors of their future. However, I've noticed the rise in prices on S&W also. Model 29's that were $650.00 a year ago are now between 800 and 900, and the same with the other models. It seems like a stiff jump to me in a very short period of time overall.

Haven't heard anything else on the commercial side of a Colt company sale since the rumors about the gov't side and a General Dynamics buy-out a few weeks ago. Furthermore, there isn't anything on the General Dynamics Press Releases web site to substantiate the earlier rumor.

Anybody think this is maybe short term and there might be a price drop or leveling off in the market to come?

Looking for opinions. I've been buying revolvers for about 2-1/2 years and have never seen prices "shoot up" like this.

·
Registered
1,277 Posts
It's all to do about how markets work.
Demand and availability combined with issues inside the market.

Demand remains as is, availability drops (ex. culling of the Colt Python by Colt), prices rise.
Here the investor steps in, not interested in the item itself, but interested in making profit. Demand rises in a market where availability has remained as is, but quickly will dry out when demand increases due to this new group in the market: prices go up. Prices will only fall, when the buyers stop buying either because of lack of interest or because of lack of cash.

So for prices to fall, it will probably take a stiff resecion or a dramatic change in U.S. gunlaws to drop interest. Otherwise I don't see prices to drop in the near or even far future.

·
Registered
72 Posts